Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join SEM
Standing Committees
Share |

Standing committees are appointed by the SEM Board and address issues of ongoing importance to the Society. They hold formal meetings during the SEM Annual Meeting.


Academic Labor Committee

Sandra Graham, Chair
Babson College
Babson Park, MA  02457-0310
Phone: 530-574-7993
Email: sgraham@babson.edu

Members: Thomas Porcello, Jonathan Ritter, Alexander Rodriguez, Susan Taffe-Reed, Margaret Walker

Academic Labor Committee Page

Board Nominating Committee 2016

Jocelyne Guilbault, Chair
Department of Music
University of California, Berkeley
Berkeley, CA 94720-1200
Email: guilbault@berkeley.edu

Members: Martin Daughtry, Adriana Helbig, Pirkko Moisala, John-Carlos Perea

Council Nominating Committee 2016

Tes Slominski
Beloit College
Beloit, WI 53511
Phone: (917) 667-8448
Email: fiddlemethis@gmail.com

Members: Nicol Hammond, Maureen Loughran, Heather Sparling

Diversity Action Committee

Deborah Wong, Chair
Department of Music
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521-0325
Phone: (951) 827-3726
Email: deborah.wong@ucr.edu

Members: Harris M. Berger, Kevin Fellezs, Victoria Levine, Sarah Morelli (Section on the Status of Women representative), Marie Agatha Ozah (Crossroads Committee representative), Tes Slominski (Gender and Sexualities Task Force representative), Tim Taylor

Ethics Committee

Dorothea Hast, Chair

Middletown, CT
Email: dorothea.hast@uconn.edu

Members: Nancy Currey, Martha Ellen Davis, Stephen Duncan, Kyra Gaunt, Nancy Guy, Dorothea Hast, Edward Herbst, René Lysloff, Stanley A. Scott, Natasha Smith, Jeff Todd Titon, Hazel Wrigglesworth.

The SEM Statement on Ethical Considerations can be found here.

Investment Advisory Committee

Noriko Manabe, Chair
Dept. of Music
Woolworth Center
Princeton University
Princeton NJ 08544
Phone: 609-258-4088
Email: nmanabe@gmail.com

Members: Tim Rice, Kay Kaufman Shelemay, Ruth Stone, Jeffrey Summit

Local Arrangements Committee 2016 (Washington, DC)

Jonathan Dueck, Co-Chair
UWP, The George Washington University
2100 Foxhall Road NW
Ames 234
Washington, DC 20007
Phone: 919-617-1671
Email: jonathandueck@yahoo.com

Terry Liu, Co-Chair
National Endowment for the Arts
400 7th Street SW
Washington, DC 20506
Phone: 202-682-5690
Email: liut@arts.gov

Members: Dawn Avery, Judith Gray, Nancy Groce, Ben Harbert, Eileen Hayes, Kip Lornell, Clifford Murphy, Daniel Sheehy, Atesh Sonneborn, Larry Witzleben


Local Arrangements Committee 2017 (Denver, CO)

Sarah Morelli, Chair
University of Denver

Members: Brenda M. Romero, Victoria Levine, Jay Keister, Austin Okigbo, Joice Gibson, Aaron Paige

Program Committee 2016 (Washington, DC)

Janet Sturman, Chair
School of Music
University of Arizona
1017 N. Olive Street
Tucson, AZ 85721
Phone: 520-621-1255
Email: Sturman@email.arizona.edu

Members: Ursula Hemetek, Max Katz, Kaley Mason, Bode Omojola, Christina Sunardi

Program Committee 2017 (Denver, CO)

Lei Bryant, Chair
Skidmore College

Members: Mercedes Dujunco, Sunni Fass, Michael Iyanaga, Ana Morcom, Heather Sparling, Henry Spiller

Publications Advisory Committee

Ruth Stone, Chair

Department of Folklore and Ethnomusicology
Indiana University
Bloomington, IN
Phone: (812) 855-8913
Email: stone@indiana.edu

Members: Eliot Bates, Jim Cowdery, Mark DeWitt, Nancy Guy, Ellen Koskoff, Philip Schuyler, Gordon Thompson, David Trasoff, Stephen Stuempfle (ex officio).

Strategic Planning Committee

Andrew Weintraub, Chair
University of Pittsburgh

Members: Gage Averill, Virginia Danielson, Joanna Bosse, Maria Mendonça, Michael Birenbaum Quintero, Sylvia Nannyonga Tamusuza, Anne Rasmussen (ex officio), Stephen Stuempfle (ex officio)

Sign In

Forgot your password?

Haven't joined SEM yet?

Featured News