Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join SEM
2nd Vice-President Candidate Bios
Share |

Alejandro L. Madrid is a music scholar and cultural theorist whose research focuses on the intersection of modernity, tradition, globalization, and ethnic identity in popular and art music, dance, and expressive culture from Mexico, the U.S.-Mexico border, and the circum-Caribbean.

Professor Madrid service to the SEM includes two periods in the Council (2006-2009 and 2013-2016); as member of the Council Nominating Committee (2014) and the Board Nominating Committee (2010); as secretary in the Local Arrangements Committee for the Annual Meeting in Mexico City (2008-2009); and as member of the Local Arrangements Committee for the SEM-Midwest meeting (2010). He is also an active member of the Latin American and Caribbean Music Section. Madrid also served in the American Musicological Society’s (AMS) Council (2015-2018), as membership secretary in the Executive Committee of the International Association for the Study of Popular Music (IASPM, 2013-2015), as Open Seat in the Executive Committee of IASPM-US Branch (2006-2010), and as a member of the Executive Board of the Hemispheric Institute for Performance and Politics (2007-2009). He has also formally served the Society for American Music, the Latina/o Section of the Latin American Studies Association, and the Tepoztlán Institute for the Transnational History of the Americas.

Professor Madrid’s publications include four monographs, In Search of Julián Carrillo and Sonido 13 (2015); Danzón: Circum-Caribbean Dialogues in Music and Dance (2013), co-authored with Robin Moore; Sounds of the Modern Nation (2009); Nor-tec Rifa! Electronic Dance Music from Tijuana to the World (2008); the textbook Music in Mexico (2013); and the edited volumes Transnational Encounters (2011) and Postnational Musical Identities (2008), co-edited with Ignacio Corona.

He is the recipient of the Robert M. Stevenson Award (2014) and the Ruth A. Solie Award (2012) from the AMS; the Béla Bartók Award from the ASCAP Foundation Deems Taylor/Virgil Thomson Awards (2014); the Woody Guthrie Book Award from IASPM-US Branch (2010); the Casa de las Américas Award for Latin American Musicology (2005); the Samuel Claro Valdés Award for Latin American Musicology (2002); and fellowships from the American Council of Learned Societies, the Fulbright Program, the Ford Foundation, and the AMS.

Professor Madrid is currently associate professor of ethnomusicology at Cornell University’s Department of Music. He is regularly invited as guest professor at universities in Argentina, Chile, Cuba, Mexico, and Uruguay, and most recently, served as music advisor to acclaimed director Peter Greenaway, whose latest film, Eisenstein in Guanajuato, is set in 1930s Mexico.


Elizabeth Tolbert is Professor of Ethnomusicology at the Peabody Conservatory of the Johns Hopkins University with a joint appointment in the Department of Anthropology. She is also a Research Affiliate at the Centre for Music and Science, a Visiting Scholar at the Faculty of Music, and a Visiting Fellow at Wolfson College, all at Cambridge University. Her interdisciplinary theoretical interests and publications cover a broad range of topics, including music and evolution, feminist theory and gender, music and language ideologies, ritual, and music cognition; she has done fieldwork in Finland, Karelia, and at the Peabody Conservatory, Maryland, USA.

Tolbert has received grants from the Mellon Foundation, the NEH, the British Academy, and the Fulbright Commission. Her SEM experience includes service on the SEM Council (1995-97; 2002-04), Co-founder and Co-Chair (with Deborah Wong) of the Committee on the Status of Women (1996-1998) (Wong Tolbert student prize  named in honor of the founders), Board Nominating Committee (2001), Co-Chair of Committee on Professional Development (with Rene Lysloff) (2002-04), SEM Board Member-at-Large (2007-09), SEM liaison to NASM (2010-12), Committee for Academic Labor (2014-present), and the Local Arrangements Committee for the 2016 SEM conference in Washington, DC.

Experience with SEM Chapters includes service as MACSEM President (1996-98), MACSEM Program Committee (1994), MACSEM Local Arrangements Chair (1996), MACSEM Chair of Pantaleoni Prize Committee (1998), SSCSEM Program Committee (1985-86), SSCSEM Local Arrangements Committee, (1985-86) and Secretary-Treasurer of SSCSEM (1983-84).

Sign In

Featured News