Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join SEM
JaFran Jones Award (MIDSEM)
Share |

Purpose: The JaFran Jones prize is awarded annually (whenever funds allow) to the best student paper presented at the Chapter meeting. The prize was established in 1988 to honor the memory of the composer, ethnomusicologist and Balinese gamelan teacher JaFran Jones (d. 1997) who taught at the University of Toledo and at Bowling Green State University, Bowling Green.

Eligibility: Student presenters (usually masters and doctoral students) at Chapter meetings are encouraged to submit their papers for consideration.

Prize: The size of prize varies from year to year, and may range from $50 to $200. Second- and even third-place winners can be determined, where appropriate and as funds allow.

Regularity: Annually

Administration: A panel drawn from the Program and Abstracts committees of each meeting selects and ranks the submissions, based on the panel’s selection criteria.

Sign In

Featured News