Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join SEM
News from SEM: Conferences

Call for Papers: 2020 Annual Meeting - Rocky Mountain Chapter of the Society for Ethnomusicology

Friday, January 10, 2020   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Stephanie Sturgis
Share |

Deadline: January 15, 2020

The Rocky Mountain Chapter of the SEMSW is pleased to announce a call for papers for the Annual Meeting of the chapter on March 27–28, 2020, at the University of Northern Colorado, in Greeley, Colorado. The conference will take place as part of the Rocky Mountain Music Scholars Conference, held jointly with the Rocky Mountain Chapter of the American Musicological Society, Southwest Chapter of the Society for Ethnomusicology, and the Rocky Mountain Chapter of the Society for Music Theory.

The Southwest Chapter includes Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico, Nevada, Oklahoma, Texas, and Utah. The Program Committee invites proposals from Ethnomusicologists, Anthropologists, music scholars from all disciplines, and music students for individual papers (20 minutes and 10- minute discussion), panels of 3–4 papers on a single topic, a 60-minute workshop interactive hands-on session on one topic (music performance, dance, or recording technology), or roundtable discussions on ethnomusicological topics.

For individual papers, please submit a paper title and abstract of 250 words or less with 3-4 keywords attached to an email that provides the author’s name and institutional affiliation (if applicable). Panel and round table proposals should include an abstract for each presenter, as well as one for the session as a whole.

The name(s) or affiliation(s) of anyone involved in the presentation should not appear in the title or abstract. Conference papers will be chosen by the selection committee through a blind review process. Undergraduate student submissions must be accompanied by a faculty letter of endorsement (not submitted to the review committee with the abstract). A committee will select a student for the best student paper prize, to be awarded at the end of the conference.

Please email proposals to chapter president, Dr. Jittapim (Nan) Yamprai Email: jittapim.yamprai@unco.edu and chapter vice president, Dr. Andrea Shaheen Espinosa Email: alshaheen@utep.edu

The conference will take place at the University of Northern Colorado Campus Commons Building. All conference rooms will be equipped with presentation technologies. Please indicate any additional equipment needs for the presentation (e.g., piano) in the email in which you submit the proposal.

Sign In

Featured News