Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join SEM
News from SEM: General News

Statement of UNT Faculty on Journal of Schenkerian Studies

Friday, July 31, 2020   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Stephen Stuempfle
Share |

We, the undersigned faculty members of the University of North Texas Division of Music History, Theory, and Ethnomusicology, stand in solidarity with our graduate students in their letter of condemnation of the Journal of Schenkerian Studies. We wish to stress that we are speaking for ourselves individually and not on behalf of the university. The forthcoming issue— a set of responses to Dr. Philip Ewell’s plenary lecture at the 2019 Society for Music Theory annual meeting (https://vimeo.com/372726003)—is replete with racial stereotyping and tropes,  and includes personal attacks directed at Dr. Ewell. To be clear, not all responses contain such egregious material; some were thoughtful, and meaningfully addressed and amplified Dr. Ewell’s remarks about systemic racism in the discipline. But the epistemic center of the journal issue lies in a racist discourse that has no place in any publication, especially an academic journal. The fact that he was not afforded the opportunity to respond in print is unacceptable, as is the lack of a clearly defined peer-review process.

We endorse the call for action outlined in our students’ letter
(https://drive.google.com/file/d/1PekRT8tr5RXWRTW6Bqdaq57svqBRRcQK/view), which asks that the College of Music “publicly condemn the issue and release it freely online to the public” and “provide a full public account of the editorial and publication process, and its failures.” Responsible parties must be held appropriately accountable.

The treatment of Prof. Ewell’s work provides an example of the broader system of oppression built into the academic and legal institutions in which our disciplines exist. As faculty at the College of Music we must all take responsibility for not only publicly opposing racism in any form, but to address and eliminate systematic racism within our specific disciplines.

Dr. Ellen Bakulina, Assistant Professor, Music Theory

Andrew Chung, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Music Theory

Dr. Diego Cubero, Assistant Professor, Music Theory

Steven Friedson, University Distinguished Research Professor, Ethnomusicology/Ethnomusicology Area Coordinator

Rebecca Dowd Geoffroy-Schwinden, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Music History

Benjamin Graf, Ph.D., Senior Lecturer, Music Theory

Dr. Frank Heidlberger, Professor, Music Theory/Music Theory Area Coordinator

Bernardo Illari, Associate Professor, Music History

Dr. Justin Lavacek, Assistant Professor, Music Theory

Dr. Peter Mondelli, Associate Professor, Music History

Dr. Margaret Notley, Professor of Music/Coordinator of Music History Area

Dr. April L. Prince, Principal Lecturer, Music History

Cathy Ragland, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Ethnomusicology

Dr. Gillian Robertson, Senior Lecturer, Music Theory

Dr. Hendrik Schulze, Associate Professor, Music History

Vivek Virani, Ph.D. Assistant Professor, Ethnomusicology and Music Theory

Dr. Brian F. Wright Assistant Professor, Music History



Sign In

Featured News