Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join SEM
The Board of Directors
Share |

The SEM Board of Directors is an elected body charged with the overall governance of the Society. It sets policies for the organization and oversees its finances. The Board meets in person twice a year, once in conjunction with the SEM Annual Meeting and once during the spring.

Board terms last two years, with the exception of the President whose effective term is four years (one year as President-Elect, two years as President, and one year as Past President). Board office terms are staggered so that three or four individuals rotate off in any given year. The Board Nominating Committee prepares a slate of candidates for each year’s election.

Board Officer Duties


Gregory Barz
Blair School of Music
Vanderbilt University
2400 Blakemore Avenue
Nashville, TN 37212-3499

Phone: 615-498-9646
Email: gregory.barz@vanderbilt.edu

Timothy J. Cooley
Department of Music
University of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106
Email: cooley@music.ucsb.edu

Michael Bakan

College of Music
Florida State University
Tallahassee, FL 32306-1180
Email: michaelbakan@gmail.com
Phone: 850-273-9606

Noriko Manabe
Temple University 
Boyer College of Music and Dance
Presser Hall, 2001 North 13th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19122
Email: nmanabe@gmail.com

1st Vice President
Judith Gray
American Folklife Center
Library of Congress
Email: jugr@loc.gov
Phone: 202-707-1740

2nd Vice President
Lei Ouyang Bryant
Department of Music and Dance
Swarthmore College
500 College Avenue
Swarthmore, PA 19081
Email: lbryant1@swarthmore.edu

Member-at-Large, Prizes
Sarah Morelli
University of Denver
Lamont School of Music
2344 E. Iliff Ave.
Denver, CO 80208

Member-at-Large, Groups & Professional Development
Brenda M. Romero
University of Colorado Boulder
Email: brenda.romero@colorado.edu

Sign In

Featured News