Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join SEM
Standing Committees
Share |

Standing committees are appointed by the SEM Board and address issues of ongoing importance to the Society. Beginning in 2020, the Ethics Committee will be elected by the SEM membership. Committees hold formal meetings during the SEM Annual Meeting.


Academic Labor Committee

Gage Averill, Chair
University of British Columbia
Email: gage.averill@ubc.ca

Members: K.E. GoldschmittJoshua Katz-Rosene, Thomas Porcello, Jonathan Ritter, Alexander Rodriguez

Academic Labor Committee Page

Board Nominating Committee 2020

Damscus Kafumbe, Chair
Middlebury College
Email: dfafumbe@middlebury.edu

Members: Donna Kwon, Portia Maultsby, Zoe Sherinian, Ric Trimillos

Council Nominating Committee 2020

Sara Snyder, Chair
Western Carolina University
Email:  Slsnyder@wcu.edu

Members: Nilanjana Bhattacharjya, Michael Birenbaum Quintero, Cheryl Keyes

Diversity Action Committee

Mellonee Victoria Burnim, Chair
Indiana University
Email: burnim@indiana.edu

Members: Theresa Allison, Shalini Ayyagari, Gavin Douglas, Deonte Harris, Cándida Jáquez, Sidra Lawrence, Austin Okigbo, Fernando Orejuela, Yun Emily Wang

Ethics Committee

Andy McGraw, Chair

University of Richmond
Email: amcgraw@richmond.edu

Members: Steven Moon, Roger Savage, Muriel Swijghuisen Reigersberg, Jeff Titon 

Ethics Committee Statement of Purpose

SEM Position Statement on Ethical Considerations

Form for Submission of Questions, Concerns, and Suggestions to the Ethics Committee
Please note that the SEM Ethics Committee is not a grievance committee. However, we will deliberate all submissions, which may inform our evolving Ethics Statement and recommendations to SEM governance and membership. To submit a specific complaint to SEM, please see Procedures for the Submission and Review of Ethics Complaints.

Investment Advisory Committee

Jeffrey Summit, Chair
Tufts University
Email: jeffrey.summit@tufts.edu

Members: Tim Rice, Kay Kaufman Shelemay, Ruth Stone

Local Arrangements Committee 2020 (Ottawa, Canada)

Anna Hoefnagels, Co-Chair
Carleton College
Email: anna_hoefnagels@carleton.ca

Judith Klassen, Co-Chair
Canadian Museum of History
Email: Judith.Klassen@museedelhistoire.ca

Members: Kerri Davis (Canadian Museum of History), Rebecca Draisey-Collishaw (Queen's University), Hans Levac (Canadian Museum of History), Carolyn Ramzy (Carleton University), Gordon Smith (Queen's University), Margaret Walker (Queen's University), Ellen Waterman (Carleton University)

Program Committee 2020 (Ottawa, Canada)

Louise Wrazen, Chair
York University
Email: sem2020Ottawa@gmail.com

Members: Shalini R. Ayyagari (University of Pittsburgh), Christi-Anne Castro (University of Michigan), Anaar Desai-Stephens (Eastman School of Music, University of Rochester), Luis-Manuel Garcia (University of Birmingham), Deonte Harris (Duke University), Timothy D. Taylor (University of California, Los Angeles)

Publications Advisory Committee

Robin Moore, Chair

University of Texas at Austin
Email: robin.moore@austin.utexas.edu

Members: Eliot Bates, Katherine Brucher, James Cowdery, Mark DeWitt, Jeffers Engelhardt, Frank Gunderson
, Benjamin Harbert, Trevor Harvey, Deborah Kapchan, Donna Kwon, Eugenia Siegel Conte, Cullen Strawn, Richard Wolf, Alejandro Madrid (ex efficio), Stephen Stuempfle (ex officio)

Sign In

Featured News

The upcoming calendar is currently empty.

Click here to view past events and photos »