Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join SEM
The Special Interest Group for Historical Ethnomusicology
Share |

The Special Interest Group for Historical Ethnomusicology was established within SEM in 2005 in order to bring together SEM members with an interest in historical studies. Membership in the group is open to all scholars interested in the study of music history and the application of historical methodologies within the field of ethnomusicology.


Jonathan McCollum

Washington College
Email: jmccollum2@washcoll.edu

The mission of the Special Interest Group for Historical Ethnomusicology is to support historical studies in the field of ethnomusicology, primarily through the sponsorship and promotion of discussion, events and publications related to historical approaches in the study of music. This group provides:

  1. a forum for music scholars with historical interests to discuss issues related to the study of music history;
  2. an organizational basis to plan and execute events that focus on historical topics and methodologies;
  3. an information network where scholars can share and promote publications and activities related to the study of music history

Historical Ethnomusicology Public Website:

Historical Ethnomusicology Online Forum:
To obtain access and thereby become a SIG member, email the Chair.

Membership List:
Ann Lucas, David Hebert, Michael B. MacDonald, David Fossum, Tess Judith Popper, Jonathon Bakan, Karen A. Peters, Rohan Sagar, Nick Poulakis, Birgit Abels, Gage Averill, Sandra Graham, Maurice Mengel, Nolan Warden, George Blake, Tes Slominski, Jeremy Foutz, Kumiko Uyeda, Ryan Koons, Tomie Hahn, Daniel Neely, Rebecca Chavez Ortega, Michael Iyanaga, Jill Ann Johnson, Dr. Susanne Ziegler, Lauren Weintraub Stoebel, Andrew Raffo Dewar, Deborah Wong, Danielle Fosler-Lussier, Jessica Wood, Jonathan McCollum, Shumaila Hemani, Julio Mendivil, Hans-Christian Eckart, Justin Scarimbolo, Revell Carr, Andres R. Amado, Lawrence Ross, Michael C. Heller, Eric Vandal, Charlotte D'Evelyn, Karen Chan, Steven Elster, Philip Yampolsky, Sarah McClimon, Loribeth T. Gregory, Ry R.G. Peterson, Mamadjanova Elnora, Judah Cohen.

Sign In

Featured News