Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join SEM
African Music Section
Share |

The African Music Section brings together SEM members devoted to the study of all aspects of music from Africa and the African diaspora. The section provides scholars with a forum and community for discourse, performance and networking. The three co-chairs and one student representative are elected by the AMS at the yearly meeting. The co-chairs rotate on a yearly basis, with one incoming-elect, one current, and one outgoing. The outgoing co-chair will chair the annual meeting, and the current co-chair will act as secretary.



Stephanie Shonekan,  Presiding Chair (sshonekan@umass.edu)
Kwasi Ampene, Incoming Chair (ampene@umich.edu)
Timothy Mangin, Outgoing Chair (timothy.mangin@bc.edu)

Marceline Saibou (msaibou@bowdoin.edu)

Student Representative
Ruth Opara (Ruth.opara@gmail.com)

Listserv and Website Manager
Katie Stuffelbeam  (kstuffelbeam@ucla.edu)

African Studies Association Liaisons
Bode Omojola (bomojola@mtholyoke.edu)
Peter Hoesing (peterhoesing@gmail.com)

Dues (Suggested)
Students: $10
Faculty: Sliding scale $20, $25, $30, $35
Lifetime Honorary Membership: $150

Listserv: semafricanmusic-l@list.indiana.edu

Website: forthcoming

Section Prizes
African Libraries Student Paper Prize
Kwabena Nketia Book Prize

Sign In

Featured News