Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join SEM
Annual Meeting Travel Fund - International Awards
Share |

Purpose: To provide five annual awards of travel support to SEM Annual Meeting presenters who live permanently in countries other than the U.S. and Canada. These awards are intended to increase and facilitate international participation in the meeting. The Travel Fund Award Committee selects awardees on the basis of the quality of their presentation abstracts. The final pool of five awardees is also intended to represent presenters from diverse geographic regions.

Eligibility: Individuals who: 1) live permanently in countries other than the U.S. and Canada, 2) are not currently residing or studying in the U.S. or Canada, 3) have received an acceptance of their presentation abstract for the Annual Meeting, 4) have registered for the Annual Meeting and hold a current SEM membership; 5) do not have access to other institutional funding that would cover the costs of travel to the Annual Meeting. (Note: A presentation at a pre-conference does not count as an Annual Meeting abstract acceptance.)

Previous winners must wait three years before reapplying (e.g., 2018 winners may reapply in 2021).

Prize: Five awards of $1,000/each.

Regularity: Annually

Administration: The Annual Meeting Program Committee serves as the Travel Fund Award Committee and reviews all accepted presenters who have requested consideration for a Travel Fund Award. Applicants must have registered for the Annual Meeting and purchased an SEM membership by July 2. The committee contacts awardees in August and confirms their commitment to attend the Annual Meeting. Awardees receive checks in U.S. dollars at the Annual Meeting.

Application Process: After receiving an acceptance of an Annual Meeting presentation abstract, register for the meeting as soon as online registration opens in June. Check the designated boxes on the online registration form to request consideration for a Travel Award. Annual Meeting registration is available at "Conferences” on the SEM website.

Note: Applicants for an International Award cannot also apply for a North American Award or a Student Award from the Annual Meeting Travel Fund.

Application Deadline: July 1



Mimi Mitchell, Netherlands

Moshe Morad, Israel

Dominika Moravcikova, Czech Republic

Juan Rojas, Colombia

Kai Tang, China


Nili Belkind, Israel

Willemien Froneman, South Africa

Lyndsey Hoh, United Kingdom

Darci Sprengel, Egypt


Matthias Lewy, Brazil

Tamara Turner, United Kingdom

Juan Diego Diaz, Ghana

Bernd Brabec de Mori, Austria


Cassandre Balosso-Bardin, United Kingdom

Sebastian Wanumen, Colombia

Gavin Lee, China

Sylvia Nannyonga-Tamusuza, Uganda


Austin Emielu, Nigeria 

Thomas Hilder, Germany

Moshe Morad, Israel

Hugo Viera-Vargas, Puerto Rico


Leah O'Brien Bernini, Ireland

Megan Collins, New Zealand

Saida Daukeyeva, Kazakhstan

Jeleel Ojuade, Nigeria

Inigo Sanchez, Portugal


Dan Bendrups, Australia

Rastko Jakovljevic, Serbia

Songul Karahasanoglu, Turkey

Su Yin Mak, Hong Kong

Laudan Nooshin, U.K.


Sign In

Featured News