Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join SEM
Annual Meeting Travel Fund - Student Awards
Share |


Notice: Due to the shift of the SEM 2020 Annual Meeting to a virtual conference format, the Society will not be offering annual meeting travel awards in 2020.


Purpose: To provide five annual awards of travel support to students who are presenting at the SEM Annual Meeting. The Travel Fund Award Committee selects awardees on the basis of the quality of their presentation abstracts. The final pool of five awardees is also intended to represent presenters from diverse geographic regions.

Eligibility: Students who: 1) are enrolled fulltime in a degree program and have not graduated as of July 1 of the application year; 2) have received an acceptance of their presentation abstract for the Annual Meeting; 3) have registered for the Annual Meeting and hold a current SEM membership; 4) have not received and will not receive other institutional funding that would cover the costs of travel to the Annual Meeting. (Note: A presentation at a pre-conference or on a special Board-sponsored session does not count as an Annual Meeting abstract acceptance.)

An award cannot be combined with any other SEM award for travel to the Annual Meeting.

Previous winners must wait three years before reapplying (e.g., 2019 winners may reapply in 2022).

Prize: Five awards of $800/each.

Regularity: Annually

Administration: The Annual Meeting Program Committee serves as the Travel Fund Award Committee and reviews all accepted presenters who have requested consideration for a Travel Fund Award. Applicants must have registered for the Annual Meeting and purchased an SEM membership by July 1. The committee contacts awardees in August and confirms their commitment to attend the Annual Meeting. Awardees receive checks in U.S. dollars at the Annual Meeting.

Application Process: After receiving an acceptance of an Annual Meeting presentation abstract, register for the meeting as soon as online registration opens in early June. In addition, submit an online Annual Meeting Travel Fund Application Form. Online registration and the application form are available in the Annual Meeting Registration area of the SEM website.

Note: Applicants for a Student Travel Award cannot also apply for an International Award or a North American Award from the Annual Meeting Travel Fund.

Application Deadline: July 1



Brian Fairley, New York University 

Sophie Lewis Brady, Princeton University

Julian Lynch, University of Wisconsin

Emily Williams, University of Tennessee

Maxwell Yamane, University of Maryland


Audrey Amsellem, Columbia University 

Velia Ivanova, Columbia University 

Alyssa Mathias, University of California, Los-Angeles

Elaine Sandoval, City University of New York

Payam Yousefi, Harvard University 

Sign In

Featured News